Media

2015

Sunday Telegraph
'How to make sushi: it's a sticky business'

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/foodanddrink/foodanddrinkadvice/11469956/How-to-make-sushi-its-a-sticky-business.html

A Day with Elizabeth Bishop
The Arcadia Online

http://www.thearcadiaonline.com/a-day-with-elizabeth-jane-bishop/

Central Magazine by Frank Harris & Co
Sushi Making Class
http://www.frankharris.co.uk/central-magazine-pdfs/fh-central-spring-15.pdf

2014

Country and Townhouse
5 of the best UK Cooking Schools
http://www.countryandtownhouse.co.uk/food-and-drink/reviews/cookery-schools/

Evening Standard
London's best food courses and master classes
http://www.standard.co.uk/lifestyle/foodanddrink/londons-best-food-courses-and-masterclasses-9933806.html

The Guardian
Japanese Cuisine: How washoku is taking over Britain
http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2014/mar/05/japenese-cuisine-washoko-unesco-britain-chefs

2013

TimeOut
'From perfect rice to maki rolls and more, Time Out tests a sushi course in Aldgate'

http://www.timeout.com/london/food-and-drink/sozai-cooking-school

Blog

2014

Lucy Loves
Flickr food-ography event at Sozai Cooking School

http://lucieloves.co.uk/post/98547684639/how-to-make-sushi-with-flickr-at-sozai-cooking-school

I want you to know
Making, Eating, Seeing

http://www.iwantyoutoknow.co.uk/2014/09/three-unique-food-experiences.html

Gideon Hart
London Sushi Class

http://www.gideonhart.com/blog/london-sushi-class/

S Dress
7 most thoughtful Christmas gifts for mums
http://www.sdress.com/2014/12/18/7-thoughtful-christmas-gifts-mums/

2013

Bright Shiney News
Learn to cook Japanese

http://www.brightshinynews.com/culture-and-lifestyle/5890-food-special-learn-to-cook-japanese.html

Haiku Girl's Japan
Introducing Sozai Cooking School

http://haikugirl.me/2013/02/22/introducing-sozai-cooking-school/

Sequins and Cherry Blossom
Learn Perfect Sushi at Sozai Cooking School

http://haikugirl.me/2013/02/22/introducing-sozai-cooking-school/

Hjonesyfeeds
Sushi School

https://hjonesyfeeds.wordpress.com/tag/sozai-cookery-school/

Heidi Roberts Kitchen Talk
Sozai Japanese Cooking School Launch Evening

http://heidirobertskitchentalk.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/sozai-japanese-cooking-school-launch.html


Japan Sociaty
http://www.japansociety.org.uk/29539/sozai-cooking-school-open-day/

Bright Shiny News
http://www.brightshinynews.com/culture-and-lifestyle/5890-food-special-learn-to-cook-japanese.html

Time Out
http://www.timeout.com/london/food-and-drink/sozai-cooking-school
http://now-here-this.timeout.com/2013/03/27/thats-how-we-roll-a-class-at-sozai-japanese-cookery-school/

Reviews


Exllent japanese cooking class25/04/2017by Wan さん ( Tasty Japanese Vegetable Recipes )
Instructor:
Overall :

Yokoyama sen sei is very kind and friendly patient teacher.I'm very enjoy the class and cooking.Will come back soon.


Brilliant experience! 17/04/2017by Toni Johns 1 ( Mini Sushi Class )
Instructor:
Overall :

I really enjoyed my taster session at Sozai. The instructor was really warm and friendly, helpful, informative and gave us enough time to practice the sushi after her demonstrations. The school was very clean and well organised. I wish the session had been longer!


Excellent course13/04/2017by Mark Heywood ( Black Cod and Miso )
Instructor:
Overall :

Good fun course


Way better than just dining out12/04/2017by Amanda ( Black Cod and Miso )
Instructor:
Overall :

My sister and I attended this class because it was gifted to us for Christmas. The lead up was full of anticipation and wonder, and the result itself did not disappoint our expectations. Akemi was knowledgeable and kind, she explained in detail the process of making every dish and asked for questions regularly to ensure we were all on the same page. She understood the troubles of the inexperienced Japanese chef with regards to ingredients and technique, and reassured us with lists of Japanese supermarkets and constant comparisons to techniques we may be more familiar with. The class was interactive yet not too difficult; it became a class effort to make all the dishes which we were not expecting, but nevertheless it ensured we had her full attention all along the way. The result was delicious!!!! The rice dish had been sat since the beginning of class and was emitting a beautiful aroma that had our mouths watering and begging for the 'feast' to begin! Would highly recommend. Thank you Akemi!!!


Excellent, creative and fun03/04/2017by Faz ( Sushi Master Class )
Instructor:
Overall :

Yuka makes sushi making look fun and interactive. Maybe add some more complex dishes to the class, otherwise brilliant class.


VERY friendly and warmly kind to attendants20/03/2017by Hopeful ( Sushi Master Class )
Instructor:
Overall :

The instructor Yuka was very friendly and patient to teach us beginners how to make roll sushi. She isn't only friendly, but also I saw that she did pay attention on every single student as much as she could in the given time. We also witnessed that she did demonstrate her professional cooking skills as much as she could in the limited setting what she was allowed to use. I think this class is perfect for beginners to open a new door for beautiful Japanese cuisine via making sushi... How she demonstrated bits of her cooking knowledge made at least me curious to know and understand more about Japanese cooking! Her talking and teaching skills are excellent. as she is fun(she makes boring or complicated topics to be fun! She is great to make such things to be an entertainment for even unenthusiastic students) and make us feel easy when we are naturally intimidated by the lack of our own cooking skills in front of a well qualified chef like her. She makes it so easy for us to understand how to make sushi even though it was mystery to us... It was so much fun to make roll sushis with her and fellow students together. It's the best way to learn anything by listening and doing at the same time! She was one of the best instructors to facilitate the great learning environment as far as I remember in all my life, as I attended some cooking classes so far. I recommend her class if you want to learn about cooking, even if you don't know anything about it! She isn't threatening but just so kind, warm, fun and patient to teach! Thank you so much Ms Yuka for teaching us on the precious Sunday morning! The sushi we made by having your instruction was so tasty! Thank you so much! I've truly enjoyed everything in the class!


Good entertainment13/03/2017by Sushi Master ( Sushi Master Class )
Instructor:
Overall :

Yuka was averu good entertainer with her charming conversation. She demonstrated how to cook sushi rice, which was very practical way for begginers.
She should have her own TV cookig show.
The class was for the begginers.It wast very simple and consice but very enough to get basic idea and techniqu of sushi. I may be able to make sushi for my guest next week. She sent me the recipe and some shopping list after classes by email. That was very usuful.
Only downside was prepared kniofe for us was not sharp enough to cut sushi roll.
I reccomend for small team building occaision.


Great experience!13/02/2017by Reena ( Sushi making class )
Instructor:
Overall :

We had a fantastic time during our lesson! Izumi is very patient and really explains everything in detail. We learnt a lot! Going through the correct process of how to cook the sushi rice has made all the difference to our sushi making at home. I would highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to get the hang of the basics because the results are great!


Great fun and learnt lots!05/02/2017by OliR ( More Sushi class )
Instructor:
Overall :

This was a great course to do with Izi. She is really very knowledgeable and we had a chance to make lots of different types of sushi, as well as take lots of it home with us. Thank you, I would definitely recommend this course to friends!


Very satisfied05/02/2017by Lisa ( Mini Sushi Class )
Instructor:
Overall :

This was my first sushi class and I couldn't be more satisfied. Izzy was great, gave us lots of tips that I believe will make the difference once I am gonna try by myself. I tried watching youtube demonstration before but is not the same...this class is just perfect!!!


Read more reviews
Back to Top
Copyright (C) 2013 sozai cooking school . ALL Rights Reserved.